lost & found

river surfing

I was really bummed a couple of years ago when I thought that I’d lost this frame somewhere in the mix of backing up my archive. While doing some archive maintenance recently, I found it! I must’ve out-smarted myself. This is Elijah Mack, the subject of a river surfing story I started in college and subsequently published by Sierra Magazine. We took this portrait on a trip to Maupin, Ore., to camp and river surf in 2008. River surfing was born in downtown Munich, Germany in the 1970’s. Elijah enjoys driving thousands of miles to find waves on remote rivers despite living 40 minutes from the Pacific Ocean.

2 Comments to “lost & found”

  1. Awesome picture. I’ve heard a lot of stories about this guy, when I was in the surf club at UO he was super pumped to take us out river surfing but it never quite worked out. Is there an online version of the whole story that you could link us to?

Leave a comment